top of page

Featured in The New York Times Magazine (Education) Walton Foundation & 3DE.


Being Teacher of the Year was an impetus to me being selected as 3DE’s Assistant Principal at Frederick Douglass High School. The work I’m doing now allows me to go beyond impacting the kids in my classroom to serving an entire school, but not just any school. Our school is designed in a way every educator imagines or hopes to achieve when they enter this career. I am part of a team who is leading transformation in our school, and I hope every school in the future. We are teaching through a real-world lens, our classes are interdisciplinary and kids are leaning in. Its refreshing!

If a school provides tangible support and structure for teachers, and creates the space for flexibility, the quality of education excels. While we only launched one-year ago, I have witnessed how flexibility allows teachers to shape their classroom style to that of their students. Teachers are combining their expertise and creative-thinking to deliver learning across disciplines. This is allowing our students to learning through a dynamic lens that is more reflective of the real-world. Within every class we are seeing our students engage more and that positive excitement flows into our halls.


bottom of page